Should I buy it?

cnovark

Can you guys help out a total newbie? I'm considering buying a used Sunfish. I'm pretty sure it's a 1971 based on pictures (green with no stripe) I've seen on the internet. It's got the new style rudder but I can see where the old style was removed on the top of the stern. There's also a drain installed in the stern. I'm going to look at it tomorrow. From what I've been reading on this forum, the stern drain seems like a red flag of leakiness, and I've also read that in 1971 the cockpit had problems that caused leaks. The current owner wants $1100 for it. I'm in the Houston area.

Thanks for any help you can give me!

$1100 sounds steep. It better be in very good shape or include a trailer. That said, I"m in the northeast so prices might be very different here. My sunfish has a stern drain so that doesn't necessarily mean anything.

Can you guys help out a total newbie? I'm considering buying a used Sunfish. I'm pretty sure it's a 1971 based on pictures (green with no stripe) I've seen on the internet. It's got the new style rudder but I can see where the old style was removed on the top of the stern. There's also a drain installed in the stern. I'm going to look at it tomorrow. From what I've been reading on this forum, the stern drain seems like a red flag of leakiness, and I've also read that in 1971 the cockpit had problems that caused leaks. The current owner wants $1100 for it. I'm in the Houston area.

$1,000 sounds high, but I have considered that boats at that price where - as danpal noted-there was a good trailer and the boat was immaculate.