holt vang question

Krycek

So, today I was helping a friend rig her 15:1 Holt vang. I have been sailing the Harken ones since 2001 so never really experienced the Holt vang.

So the question is this: is the line supposed to cross over itself as i comes down from the aft turning blocks? We noticed from the last block back up to the double becket block and then back down to the block to the cleat there was no way to avoid the line crossing. We even looked at the directions that came with the thing and it looked right.

So are we doing something wrong or is this a minor design flaw? I'm inclined to think we are doing something wrong....

You just beat me to it on this exact same question. I've bought a second-hand laser with a Holt kicker & I am getting frustrated by this. The main concern is the additional friction when easing in light winds. I've tried re-rigging a few times but always end up with lines crossed. If this is the way it was designed it's a poor show. Does anyone have a photo of one rigged to run "smoothly", or should I prepare to get my cheque book out to but a Harken one? Thanks

Someone may correct me - but I think that's the way the holt one is. You always have one line crossed. Our club boats have the holt (cheaper) and it's a bitch to let the kicker off properly in light air. The harken kicker is a slightly different design (bottom turning blocks rotated) so it doesn't suffer from this.

It is just the design of the holt one, you will always have ropes crossing and causing friction. Stick with the harken one.

I remember looking at the differences between the pictures of the Holt and Harken when I upgraded several years back. The Holt just looked less user friendly.

thanks all... it kinda boggles my mind that for 200 USD they couldn't design a vang that was simplier and didn't cross lines. I take it from the other responses the friction does become a problem? Does anyone LIKE the Holt vang?