docking tips with onshore wind

MiLLz

Four times I have taken my newly used laser out and 3 times out of those 4 I have had difficulty docking. The wind has been blowing toward the dock every time I go for a sail. Today the breeze was enough that when I finally made it to the dock (nearly crashed) the wind proceeded to beat my boat against it while I fiddled with the rigging. When I was coming toward the dock the boom was out of reach and I could not untie the mainsheet or unhook the clew. If I turn the boat in order to undo the rigging, I am headed toward the center of the lake or the beach instead of the dock.

My beloved laser left the lake with exposed fiberglass today. I am very new at this. Can anyone provide any any tips on their docking procedure with a breezy onshore wind?
Thanks in advance.

If you can't come in to the other side of the dock, then release the clew before landing. Do this by heading up to take the pressure off. The wind will still carry the boat in. Steer the boat with rudder and body weight.

could it be so easy?

Yup, with an onshore wind the resistance caused by a flapping sailing and your body is enough to pull you toward your destination.

Also try "wagging" the tiller, as in moving it sharply from one side to another, that gives the boat slight forward momentum so you can steer.

Dont worry, practice makes perfect!

What a difference a good sailing vocabulary makes with the search engine. I will try these techniques next chance I get. Thanks alot.

Well, you are not the only one with docking issues! Our dock sits 90 degrees to the wind so when I come up underneath, I end up pointing right into the wind, nose in to the dock but the darn thing is 10' in front of me so how do I grab it? I scramble to the bow, nearly capsize and make a mess! If I turn the boat to the side to grab the dock, we start sailing again, even if the main is loose, so I could rip my arm off!

I hear your pain!