Upwind sail setup

Sugar

I am new to the laser class and have just purchased a brand new boat. I am working my way through the usual set up and adjustment problems that come with a new boat - but have one issue I cant resolve.
On the weekend I went out in a reasonably strong breeze (25+) and found the when working upwind I had some fluttering in the leach between the bottom 2 battens. - This is not fast !!!

I was sheeted near block to block (except in the gusts), had a fair amount of vang, cunningham maxed out and the foot was all but flat and had this problem. I thought maybe ot was due to the retainer on the clew so I tightened this up as tight as possible- problem still persisted.

Has anyone had this problem on a new sail before ..if so what am I doing wrong in my set up ?

I would like to get this sorted before I destroy the sail ! :eek:

25+ is hard on any sail. I think the drLaser site has some trim/set up information, but if you have a new boat and the new vang system you should have been able to crank on enough vang to stop most of that fluttering. Perhaps not all of it though. Also, if the breeze was 25 plus gusts you should not have been 2 blocked on your trim upwind. You should have had the main about 6" out.

'25+'
Laser sailing normally does not happen in 25 knots. I was told that at the worlds they will not send people out due to the potential damage to the charter equipment.

Aren't you suppose to break in the new top section in light to moderate breezes? If what I've heard is correct you'd be causing damage to your new top section.

In my last new boat I bent my bottom section while taking the boat out on a 20 knot day during one of my first sails. I know for sure those breezes are hell on a new sail!