Sailing Coaches/Instructors

will162878

Do any of you US sailors on the forum teach/coach sailors of any kind? I'd be interested to hear if you do to compare how your coaching is setup/run etc.

Hi, Will,

I have some limited experience. About 20 indivudual students over the years, all beginning to mid-fleet Laserites, plus a few seasoned J-24 and J-22 skippers on their way to the Rolex Girlies.

Mostly
- dockside,
- one-boat (2-person),
- one boat plus chase boat,
- boat-on-boat , and
- live racing
OTW Laser coaching, in that sequence.

OTW work was supported by video and digital photography feedback, "classroom" seminars, fitness and lifestyle training, role playing, mental skills development, and some handouts based on drLaser content.

I don't accept money for teaching Lasering so these were all free courses. But they were all formal (read: I scream and yell when necessary.)

For a second hull, I used our fleet hull if the student did not own a Laser. I used our fleet Whaler or the R.I.B. of a friendly neighboring sailing club, plus their conference room and A.V. facilities (in return for some free "Race Management" and "Regatta Organization" seminars/workshops for the club or in return for running some of their fleet races).

I've also done some volunteer teaching for a local non-profit outfit specializing in city youth at risk, but that was on huge "yachts".

What do you need to know specifically?

Shevy

Does the US have a programme to:

a) "grab" kids and get them into sailing?
b) Develop skills.

Is US race training:

a) National authority organised/administered.
b) A responsibility for clubs and provate coaches.
c) A responsilbilty for each class.
d) School/College organised (youth)
??

Hi, Will,

Go to:
http://www.USsailing.org

Check out
- "Getting Started"
- "Education", and
- "Youth".