Sail not raising high enough.

oobleck321

I am fairly new to sailing and will try my best to get out what I want.
I just got a new sunfish tonight and I'm having a tiny problem.

The line used to raise the sail, I pull until it stops, and when its stops theres about 7 inches to the top gromet and the boom is only a half an inch off the deck.

The only way I can get it all teh way to the top is getting on teh bow and holding it up which wont cut it on the water.

Any suggestions or methods I can try to get the sail raised all teh way to the top jsut from pulling the line all the way to the top

Thanks again!

Let's see now, you've got two sliding parts - the halyard rope moving through the eye at the top of the mast and the bronze gooseneck ring sliding up the mast. Can you tell which one is getting hung up?

Let's see now, you've got two sliding parts - the halyard rope moving through the eye at the top of the mast and the bronze gooseneck ring sliding up the mast. Can you tell which one is getting hung up?

Posative that the halyard through the eye at the top of the mast is getting hung up.
I made sure the rope was lined up in teh grove of the mast cap but that isnt it

OK, what things could cause this problem - kinks in the line, worn line, line twisting around the mast from misalignment of spar, line too fat.

Is the line too fat? When the mast is down and in your lap is the line small enough to glide through the eye hole easily. There should be some daylight between the line and the eye. None of the line size recomendations matter at this point so long as what you have is small enough to thread through the eye hole without being pushed and pulled to feed it through.