Problems first day sailing in new used fish

mlee

I am a novice sailor. After reading some basic books on sailing and talking to a few people (and getting to go for a ride on someone else's fish), I took my newly purchased older boat out last Friday.

Everything went pretty well, and I had a good time practicing manuvering the boat and learning different points of sail with a couple of exceptions.

I was on a run when a motor boat went by me 10 to 15 yards to starboard on a parallel course. He produced a signficant wake. A little late, I decided to turn into the wake because it was already tossing me about. The hull was banging through the wake and the boom was also making an alarming amount of noise as it suddenly was moving about eratically. With little warning, the boom caught me on the forehead and knocked me out of the boat. I managed to hold onto the boat (whose sail had refilled), uncleat the mainsheet and climb back in. (I was wearing a lifevest!)

Any tips on how to deal with motorboat wake?

My other question regards the daggerboard. I was sailing fairly fast on a reach when I noticed that the daggerboard had begun to vibrate. I've checked the board (it is made of wood - the boat was made in 78) and it does not seem to be warped. Is some vibration normal?

For now, I've been sailing with the board completely down during all points of sail. Are there some points of sail where it should be partially withdrawn?

I'm going back out in a couple of days - any advice would be appreciated.

Thanks

Daggerboard vibration is normal.
Do not cleat the mainsheet!
Sounds like you were not moving much if the wake tossed you around. Treat the wake like any other wave: try cutting through it at 45 degrees.

Fred

Vibrating blades are common. If the edges have any nick in them it will likely vibrate. No big deal unless you are racing at the top of the fleet.