Problems developing Power

captadamr

Hello,

I have been sailing aggressively for around 4 months with club boats. Finally got my own, 180000 series. I was out with the same main in 8-10kts and was keeping up and ahead of most of the sunfish I was sailing with (one is a2x world champ). I was out today with the same crew in 14-18kt and was having trouble keeping up. It seemed that I couldn't make nearly as much power in todays conditions vs the lighter winds. I had the vang tighter than 2block but not over tight, and cunni pulling the wrinkles out of luff. Outhaul had about 10in of draft. I was able to hold the boat flat most of the time except in the gusts. I just was getting gassed by the sunfish. I understand they cant point as high as the laser, but they were beating me to the top mark. The sail is older but isnt blown out. It was quite choppy 3ft and 5sec. Is it the sail or my technique? I weigh 200lb

thanks

Hello,

I have been sailing aggressively for around 4 months with club boats. Finally got my own, 180000 series. I was out with the same main in 8-10kts and was keeping up and ahead of most of the sunfish I was sailing with (one is a2x world champ). I was out today with the same crew in 14-18kt and was having trouble keeping up. It seemed that I couldn't make nearly as much power in todays conditions vs the lighter winds. I had the vang tighter than 2block but not over tight, and cunni pulling the wrinkles out of luff. Outhaul had about 10in of draft. I was able to hold the boat flat most of the time except in the gusts. I just was getting gassed by the sunfish. I understand they cant point as high as the laser, but they were beating me to the top mark. The sail is older but isnt blown out. It was quite choppy 3ft and 5sec. Is it the sail or my technique? I weigh 200lb

thanks