Install bailer on Vanguard 420

RyanLee

Hello,
I recently purchased an older Vanguard 420, without a bailer. I have been pumping out rainwater (and water that gets in from the centerboard) using a drill pump, but that gets old really fast.

Has anyone successfully installed a Andersen/Elvstrom Automatic Bailer (Medium) on a Vanguard 420 that did not have a bailer? I have no experience with fiberglass, so trying to determine if this is a good idea on the Vanguard 420, and also how hard it would be to do?

Thanks
Ryan

First of all...
I have been pumping out rainwater (and water that gets in from the centerboard)
...get 1) a cover, and 2) replace the centreboard gasket :rolleyes:

But of course you need at least one bailer, too... Installing one is about as hard/easy as cutting a hole and drilling six screwholes in the bottom of the hull. The fitting should include a template. No fibreglass work is needed. Pictures of bailer locations on 420s are probably all over the net.

I haven’t installed any bailers on 420s/470s, but many on Europe dinghies back in the day. I can give more tips once you’re ready to proceed.

_

First of all......get 1) a cover, and 2) replace the centreboard gasket :rolleyes:

But of course you need at least one bailer, too... Installing one is about as hard/easy as cutting a hole and drilling six screwholes in the bottom of the hull. The fitting should include a template. No fibreglass work is needed. Pictures of bailer locations on 420s are probably all over the net.

I haven’t installed any bailers on 420s/470s, but many on Europe dinghies back in the day. I can give more tips once you’re ready to proceed.

_

Thanks LaLi.
I was thinking about the cover, but I figure if I have a bailer open, shouldn't that be enough to drain the water when the boat is on the dolly? Seems like more $ and effort when the bailer open would do the trick? Or does the bailer only work if the boat is in the water and moving?