How best to kick-start my Laser racing?

It has been nearly a decade since I seriously raced a Laser. Yes, I have kept racing in other boats, dinghies and cats. Now want to not embarass myself as a Laser full rig GrandMaster.
What do you sailors think is the best way to get a quick jump start? Yes, I'll be sailing once or twice a week, long days, alone.
Cannot seem to find the racing how-to websites that once existed.
Tampa Bay, Florida area.....

The Laser Forum is the best place to be for Laser sailors! Use the Search feature to find threads on your topic, many with links to other sites with information. You can also post any question and get a friendly answer. In addition, since you are in Florida, there are many winter events. Last year I sailed at Master's Midwinters East at Clearwater in February. I'm pretty new to sailing, and it was a good time. Here's my write up of the event.
http://www.laserforum.org/showthread.php?t=3411&highlight=Master%27s+midwinters+east

Yes, I sailed at Clearwater last weekend. Ian Lineberger let me practice with two Team FOR guys. Meka and Kurt are busy with regattas until later in the Winter. The Florida Masters are in mid-February. Looks like I'll just have to practice solo until then. Having taught and coached the sport (since 1962!) I know that practice does not make perfect. Perfect practice makes perfect. Don't want to hone bad habits!

I have never seriously raced a Laser. Just recreational racing years ago, other boats, other people's boats, and dinghy racing as a kid / teenager. I raced in our District champs (10 boats!) in a borrowed beater, then bought a nice used boat a year ago. If I could reach more races from here, I would be doing it every weekend. I love sailing.