Design flaw or operator error?

johnkent

I'm fairly new to laser sailing, came from sunfishes.
When I'm sailing at a run, with the sail out quite a bit, and I jibe, often the main sheet will get caught on the stern corner as it makes it's way over to the other side. Most of the time I don't know it until I realize I can't sheet out, by then it's too late and I'm doing the back stroke in the water. This never happens close hauled as there is not enough sheet out, only when I have plenty of sheet out. I've tried to sheet in some before coming-about, but this does not really work well, and it seems like a clumsy way to come about. Design flaw or operator error? Please tell me this happens to someone else besides me. Advice? thanks.

Both!

It is a problem with the boat, but with experience, you can stop it from happening - the primary way is to give the mainsheet a big (quick) pull just as the boom is coming across. It does take some practice, but with the proper technique you can prevent it from happening.

It still happens to me sometimes - it seems usually before the start when I am maneuvering, and I think that is because I am focused on other things. You also start to get the feeling of something not being right, and taking a quick look back to check, and working on your dive back to the corner to fix it quickly before you get into trouble.

Last night I gave my mainsheet a big pull as my boom was coming across, and it had the result of wrapping the mainsheet around the end of the boom. That was way worse than the corner, because you need to pull the boom to centre and hold onto it to fix it, which is a pain going downwind (and slow - that is my excuse for that race). What was I doing wrong?