Common causes of hull damage?

cnovark

Another total newbie question...what are the main causes of hull damage? I sort of anticipate the occasional bump into a bulkhead or something. How much damage does that do? I'm considering a newer and very very pretty Sunfish and was wondering how much abuse it could take without getting totally beat up. Basically I'm torn at the moment between getting a sound but not pretty 70s Sunfish for a little under a thousand with trailer, or a 2008 one with a racing stripe, racing sail, extra sail, fiberglass rudder and daggerboard, covers, and a trailer for around $2500. I CAN afford the nice one, but don't know if I SHOULD--ie, how much am I gonna bang this thing up as a newbie?

You guys have been super helpful and I love this forum. Thanks.

Good questions.
When I started sailing I borrowed a Sunfish for a year, because I wasn't sure if I would stick with it, or if it was a passing thing for me. As it turns out, I'm glad I did because when I figured out I really was serious, I also then knew that I really wanted and that I would appreciate a new boat. If I had started by buying a boat, I would have bought a used one - it would have been right at the moment, but a mistake in the long run. So...it depends.

As for 'how much damage'... A few common mishaps are 1. Hitting the board on something underwater or coming into shore with the daggerboard down, which can damage not only the board but the trunk itself, 2. Running it onto the beach or shore and not babying the hull (more an issue with new boats) - with the newer boat and dolly, like the $2,500 one mentioned - I would never, ever let the hull touch the beach - even if it's all sand, 3. Doing cosmetic 'damage' like scraping the forward bolt sticking down (even with a duct tape buffer) on the lower spar, or the tiller, across the deck...not that that's terrible, but it happens to beginners and the scratching can look ugly.