Sail Control question

pez

ok... I have the old school vang... I moved the Jam Block to the top position so the jam is at the boom and not at the base of the mast. I've since been able to fully tighten the sucker down as opposed to it just hanging there...

Since then the boat has been, well, slower... Oddly, I also re-rigged the cummingham, and outhaul at the same time.

The laser is my first boat (for all intents and purposes), and I have no sailing experience beyond that...

Vang - the tighter it is, the less power the sail has because it lessens the "airfoil" shape of the sail by lengthening the luff... right? Wrong? Geez I cant believe someone would think that....

Cummingham- Can depower the sail by stiffening the leech, which prebends the mast. What physics are at work here that cause this de-powering?

Outhaul - Can de-power the sail by making the sail flatter. This controls the draft of the sail. The tighter you have your outhaul, the less pressure differential is created by airflow across the sail (shaped like a piedce of plywood vs a airplane wing.

How close am I to understanding this stuff?

Vang has more effect on the leach than luff, and it shouldn't matter which block you have where, the attachment points are the same.

Cunningham controls fore/aft location of the roach (the curve of the airfoil if you will.

Outhaul controls how much roach.

Hope that helps you a little

ok... most of the time I dont need to depower the sail (not a ton of wind etc)...

I searched around and the "why's" are somewhat elusive. I cant figure out why so many people are paying hundreds for 8-1 purchase vang and a 13-1 cunningham to go sail in 10 kts.

So I am going to throw all that out the window, and use the cunningham to take the wrinkles out of the luff and going to set the vang just to the point where it wont come off the boom... If I need to de-power I will pull in cunninham and vang a little at a time...