When do you raise your sails?

seminolesailer

I'm fortunate enough to live on a short canal that leads to a big body of water to sail. I keep my boat on a lift and I'm trying to figure the easiest way to get out to the open water, go sailing, then return to the lift. I'm relatively new to this and was curious how everyone else does it?

This is my process:

1. Load bag of sails in cuddy.
2. Paddle my way down the canal to open water.
3. Throw an anchor off the bow.
4. Raise sails.
5. Pull up anchor and go sail.
6. Sail close to canal opening and throw anchor.
7. Drop sails.
8. Stow away sails and paddle back to lift.

Does this all seem like the easiest/fastest way of going out, or do y'all have any tips for an easier time? (ie. creating your own mooring ball to avoid dealing with anchor, raising sails before paddling out, sailing down canal?!, etc. etc.)

Check out my posts and you'll see how I operate. I like to have my sails all rigged and ready when leaving the dock. With my trolling motor and the other improvements installed (too many to talk about here), a ton of versatility is gained! And things could get dicey for you if the wind picks up while you're out there, might have a tough go trying to get back to the dock. My setup allows me to go out on breezy days (running reefed main only), adjust sails (jib and reefing main) while underway, just motor out to my favorite anchorage on those hot windless days and swim, etc etc. There's so many things you can do with this boat if you have the time, ability , and $$ to improve her.
Cheers!

Attachments

• Ready To Go.jpeg
    Ready To Go.jpeg
    461.7 KB · Views: 57
  • Lazy Day At Anchor.jpeg
    Lazy Day At Anchor.jpeg
    488.7 KB · Views: 54
  • Reefed Main.jpeg
    Reefed Main.jpeg
    492.9 KB · Views: 43
  • Motor Mount 2.JPG
    Motor Mount 2.JPG
    883.1 KB · Views: 57
  • Stern of Capri.JPG
    Stern of Capri.JPG
    836 KB · Views: 56
  • Home Port.jpeg
    Home Port.jpeg
    554.2 KB · Views: 64