Trailer vibration question

puddlesailer

Hello everyone,
I am new to the Capri 14.2 (purchased an '86 late last summer and sailed it twice) and new to this forum too.
I have a question about towing:

I use a Volvo V70 to tow the boat and have found that between 45 and 65 mph I get a lot of vibration out of the trailer- enough to make my teeth chatter! The tires look ok with lots of tread and the boat is centered and strapped down tight. The previous owner says he greased the wheel bearings right before I picked the boat up. I asked my local Discount Tire if they could balance an 8 inch wheel and the guy looked at me like I was crazy.

Can these small wheels be balanced? Should I just order a new set of wheels and tires? Or do I have some other problem? Any advice or suggestions will be greatly appreciated.
John:)

What kind of wheel bearings do you have? Mine are what is called "Buddy Bearings" and they have a small grease fitting in the center of the bearing. I would not trust that the bearings have been greased by the former owner. It is easy to do and something you need to know how to do anyway.

I was told that one bearing was replaced and they were both newly-greased---- NOT

I would take them out and check them for sure.

Also check that all the lug nuts are in place and are tight. After towing the car/boat for a few miles, you should be able to touch the end of the housing containing the bearings and it should be warm not hot. Be very careful when touching the housing as it could be red hot if the bearing grease is either low or missing altogether. Be sure to use waterproof bearing grease, that could also be your problem, if the old owner used the wrong grease it may have washed away after only one or two times in the water. Let us know what you find out.

Thanks!