Sunfish vs Imitation

Discussion in 'Sunfish Talk' started by Merrimac, Nov 20, 2012.

1. Merrimac

Merrimac Member

Is there anything that is gained with a legit sunfish over say a howmar phantom. There is a sunfish for $1400 but the phantom is only $600. Both have trailers.
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

I am trying to get a good boat but is the sunfish really worth the extra $800 over the phantom?
    Thanks,
    Merrimac

2. sailcraftri

sailcraftri Well-Known Member

That particular Sunfish is not worth the $800 difference so I would go with the Phantom. I just think for its age, the Sunfish in the photo with trailer is over priced. It is probably a mid 70's boat so with trailer maybe $800 at most (here in New England).

3. Merrimac

Merrimac Member

Thanks, I also thought it was a bit overpriced... but I am a newbie

4. tag

tag my2fish

part of it will depend on how you plan to use it, and whether it will now (or in the future) need parts.

if you don't plan to race in Sunfish races, then it makes sense to buy the cheaper boat.

but, the Sunfish will (most likely) be much easier to find replacement parts for if you want to upgrade or repair anything.

cheers,
    tag

5. Merrimac

Merrimac Member

Speaking of which... where would one find phantom parts?

6. AQBill

AQBill Member

7. sailcraftri

I have Phantom bailers, new, all pieces for $10. Contact me at cjo1023 at yahoo-dot-com.

8. rohrbeck

rohrbeck New Member

I'd guess the sunfish will be easier to sell when the time comes, and it always does.

9. Merrimac

Merrimac Member

True, the sunfish just came on the market but the phantom has been there for 2 weeks.

10. signal charlie

signal charlie Active Member Staff Member

Price depends on where you are at. Down here in the Florida panhandle that Sunfish would sell quick at that price. OTOH I had problems unloading two really clean Butterflies. Also the galvanized trailer looks to be in good shape, that brings 400-600 dollars here.