Question Sunfish similarities to the Butterfly?

Seashells

Hi all, I’m a complete beginner to sailing. My friend and I recently acquired a Sunfish but haven’t had a chance to take it out yet. I also recently went on a vacation at a lake house and had full access to a Butterfly sailboat for about a week. That was my first time ever sailing. I got used to it pretty quickly and I felt it was such a good beginner boat (albeit the wind wasn’t ever too strong). I’m wondering if anyone can offer similarities between the Butterfly and Sunfish and if you can share any experiences. Thanks!!

The Butterfly is more tender compared to the Sunfish because of its rolled Chine. It also has a large 2 part mast, around 18 feet I believe, that is tricky to step. Same square footage of sail on a scow hull, so the waterline is about the same as a Sunfish.

We had two at one point, but the deal breaker for us was the mast. If you could leave it rigged somewhere...

IMG_0187.jpg

Audrey Butterfly SEII.jpg

SE II sunfish beach.jpg

Audrey Sweet Emotion Butterfly.jpg

The Butterfly is more tender compared to the Sunfish because of its rolled Chine. It also has a large 2 part mast, around 18 feet I believe, that is tricky to step. Same square footage of sail on a scow hull, so the waterline is about the same as a Sunfish.

We had two at one point, but the deal breaker for us was the mast. If you could leave it rigged somewhere...

View attachment 56617

View attachment 56618

View attachment 56619

View attachment 56620

View attachment 56617

View attachment 56618

View attachment 56619

View attachment 56620