Should the Sunfish Class allow VHF Radios? - What if Andre did not rescue Bob Findlay?

sadkins372

ARTHUR B. HANSON RESCUE MEDAL AWARDED TO ANDRE PATIN

Way to go Andre Patin, along with John Porter!. I am fairly new to the Sunfish Class and Bob Findley has been so helpful and welcoming to my wife and I. It would have been a tragedy to loose him on June 11, 2023 if Andre had not retired and sailed by him and rescued him.

Less than three months earlier on March 26, 2023 at the Masters at Midwinters Race skippers meeting, Race Committee Chairman, John Farris responded to a question about radios:
I think the class says no. And I think that is something, if I may politic, the class needs to look at. Radios have gotten small enough and cheap enough, and there are safety factors to all of that. I am very fond of verbal communication…

In reading the quote below, what could be more important to the class than SAFETY to not allow radios? (sorry but I am a Safety First guy) I still carry a small radio in my PFD pocket, ask for the appropriate channel, but keep it off at class regattas. I urge the class to reconsider. They are standard in other classes and very common in others. At my second class regatta in Clearwater (Midwinters 2022) my upper boom endcap broke and it took me an hour (sailing alone) to make it back to the club. Just a few days earlier Andre's dad, Paul-John, assisted our friend Lynne, who had capsized multiple times in the Masters on the very long sail back from the Gulf to the sailing club.