Rules- At a mark

Discussion in 'Laser Class Politics' started by ChrisS, Aug 9, 2008.

  1. ChrisS

    ChrisS New Member

    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm trying to get my head around the basic racing rules. I would just like someone to clarify the rule in relation to right-of-way at a mark. Would it be correct to say that:

    At a mark the inside boat has right of way (if it is overlapped). If there is no overlap the boat clear ahead has right of way. :eek:
     
  2. bjmoose

    bjmoose Member

    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    That is an oversimplification, but it is basically correct.

    A notable exception to be cautious of is two boats approaching a windward mark on a beat on opposite tacks. Your broad statement does not apply in that case, you'll want to study it further.
     

Share This Page