Rule 18 at WW mark

Discussion in 'Laser Class Politics' started by abenn, Jun 24, 2009.

  1. abenn

    abenn New Member

    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Sorry I don't know how to post a picture here but hopefully the explanation will do.

    2 boats approaching top mark, both on starboard, overlapped, but neither is making the mark when they enter the 3 boat length circle. As they are on same tack, rule 18 applies as they enter - right ? But who is the inside boat ? WW boat is closer to the mark but LW boat is usually considered inside.
    They both have to tack to make the mark, does Rule 18 turn off when they tack ?

    If they both tack and stay overlapped, can the previously LW boat (now WW and definitely inside boat) claim room as if they had originally entered the circle on port ?

    If the overlap is broken as they tack, can the original WW boat deny room to the other boat ?

    As they approach the mark on starboard, does LW boat have any rights i.e. is it the inside boat ? Or can the WW boat sail right up to the mark and tack at the last second - effectively pushing LW boat past the mark on downwind side.
     
  2. Merrily

    Merrily Administrator Staff Member

    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    38
    WW and LW turn off at the three boat length circle. The inside boat has rights. When the boats tack (pass head to wind), the inside boats loses her rights, and it goes back to WW/LW rules. LW can't claim room, as room rights are turned off; she can only make WW head up.

    Thanks for bringing this topic up. It's made me look at the rule more closely.

    RRS, 2009-2012, 18.2 Giving Mark-Room
    (a) When boats are overlapped the outside boat shall give the
    inside boat mark-room, unless rule 18.2(b) applies.
    (b) If boats are overlapped when the first of them reaches the zone, the outside boat at that moment shall thereafter give the inside boat mark-room. If a boat is clear ahead when she reaches the zone, the boat clear astern at that moment shall thereafter give
    her mark-room.
    (c) When a boat is required to give mark-room by rule 18.2(b), she
    shall continue to do so even if later an overlap is broken or a
    new overlap begins. However, if either boat passes head to
    wind or if the boat entitled to mark-room leaves the zone, rule
    18.2(b) ceases to apply.
    (d) If there is reasonable doubt that a boat obtained or broke an
    overlap in time, it shall be presumed that she did not.
    (e) If a boat obtained an inside overlap from clear astern and,
    from the time the overlap began, the outside boat has been
    unable to give mark-room, she is not required to give it.
     
  3. Rob B

    Rob B Active Member

    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Excellent job Janet. Nothing supports a rules discussion better than actually posting the rule that applies from the book! Nothing makes me more crazy than when people start posting what they THINK to a question like this and they end up giving bad advice.
     
  4. Lots 2Learn

    Lots 2Learn New Member

    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    One point of clarification is that WW and LW (section a and b) rules do not actually turnoff at the zone; it's just that the rule 18 begins to apply. I agree with the rest of the comment as rule 18.2(c) turns off 18.2(b) when one of the boats passes head to wind. Essentially they will be left using section A and B rules to muddle through the rounding.
     

Share This Page