Novice Perceptions of Sailing Lasers

mpickering

All,

I'm a novice Laser sailor. I, probably foolishly, opted to jump in with both feet in getting used to my Laser by frostibiting it. The first time I took the boat out was in November and here I am racing it in the dead of winter. Fortunately Maryland winters are somewhat milder than Maine so I'm not dodging icebergs in the harbor.

I do know my limits. I don't have the experience with the boat yet to comfortably sail her in 20+ knots of wind in freezing temperatures. I've stayed home in those conditions and gone out in light to medium winds.

The first time out had a simple goal: don't drown and get around the marks. Six races and I did that. I wouldn't call it racing. More like chasing across half the course. When the other boat were approaching the leeward mark, I'm just reaching the windward mark. But you have to start somewhere. Despite seeing transoms in the distance, I'm still smiling and happy to be under sail.

Alas, I only got credit for one race out of the six. At least I got onto the board. Learned my first lesson: Cross the line on the RIGHT side of the committee boat.

The second series of races last week were some of the best sailing of my life in my admittedly short "career" of sailing. Winds were forecast for 6 knots going calm in the afternoon. As a result, only 10 Standards and 3 Radials came out. And we had a ball!

Winds were variable, occasionally going to nothing so the first race found us chasing every ripple on the water. And I sailed just as I had before with the fleet half-a-course away. But I at least crossed on the right side of the line!

Then something clicked.