Light air sailing

ozsteve

Hi,

I am relatively new to the laser and am getting to the end of my first season. I live inland in Australia and we are now into ligher air weather patterns predominantly. What tips or tricks do people have for getting boats moving fast in lighter airs? Should you still mainsheet block to block upwind or ease off just a bit? Is the boat better sailed healed over slightly or flatter?

Thanks for any comments

Steve

I might be wrong but this is what I do:
set the vang to hold the blocks abour 8inches apart, then ease the main about 12 inches. When the boat starts moving i slowly sheet in till there is about 8inches between the blocks. At the same time I head up, but not as high as i would normally. If the boat starts slowing down i bear away, ease the sheet and then start again.
I only heal the boat to windward when there isn't enough wind to hold the sails in the correct shape.

Hope this helps!

I might be wrong but this is what I do:
set the vang to hold the blocks abour 8inches apart, then ease the main about 12 inches. When the boat starts moving i slowly sheet in till there is about 8inches between the blocks. At the same time I head up, but not as high as i would normally. If the boat starts slowing down i bear away, ease the sheet and then start again.
I only heal the boat to windward when there isn't enough wind to hold the sails in the correct shape.

Hope this helps!

LPW said:

Hope this helps!

That's a mistype, right ? You want to be heeling to leeward when there isn't enough wind.

49208 said:
That's a mistype, right ? You want to be heeling to leeward when there isn't enough wind.

Actually, on his Boat Whisperer DVD, Steve Cockerill says that heeling the boat to windward is best in light wind, but that it is quite difficult to master.