How to fix Rudder pox?

pugwash

Hello,

I am new to lasers and plan to race when spring comes around - I have just got a 2002 - the hull is in pretty good shape but I need some advice how to fix up the rudder.

There are rust spots on the blade - most are only superficial but with some it looks like the reinforcing bar is rusting and is pushing up the surface of the foil.

See pics

Any advice how to fix this is much appreciated?

Attachments

• IMG_1523.jpg
    IMG_1523.jpg
    115.7 KB · Views: 55
  • IMG_1524.jpg
    IMG_1524.jpg
    156.1 KB · Views: 59
1. You could do nothing and it will probably last you for quite a few years and not be that big an effect. Depends on your level of racing.

2. You could sand the surface so that the blade is fair (back to it's original shape) and treat the surface rust with Ospho or naval jelly and paint over it.

Know that in the above cases the reinforcing rods are liable to keep rusting and expanding and that eventually the problem will get worse. But it could take years to become a big deal.

3. You could do major surgery on the blade and grind out all the effective areas and clean the rods down to bare metal and then refill your holes and repaint. Depending on how good you do it, it could be a permanent repair. Or maybe there is still hidden rust that you don't find and it will start all over again in time. . .

4. Or you could buy another blade, they're about US$140 and save yourself the time and aggravation.

Personally I'd go with option 1 until it bugged me enough to go to option 2 or even go straight to option 4. But then it's hard to say what will win when my cheapness comes into conflict with my laziness!

-Steve

There's in in-between choices 2 & 3 above, that I have used with good sucess.