Getting started

per_nulla

Hello all,

This is my first ever post on a sailing forum and I'm very new to being in control of a sailboat.
I'm in Northern California and just sailed for the first time (Whiskeytown Lake) by myself and it was on a sunfish. I was out for about an hour and I seemed to have the general idea of how they work and to make it go where I want. Now I just need time in the saddle. If it works out I'd like to sail during the winter. From what I've read so far I should be wearing a 5/4 wetsuit with the foot, head and hand accompaniments. I'm hoping to get out 2 to 3 times a week an hour or so each time.

What I need to know is can I get away with a $150 or so wetsuit O'Neill Epic 5/4 suit or do I need a suit specific to sailing with reinforcements on the seat and knees? I'm aware of the back and forth between dry suits and wetsuits but since I'm just starting out I want to keep the cost down and wetsuits seem to be the way to go at this time.

Thanks

Wet Suits are just what the name implies. You may want to look at dry tops and dry pants . They are also what the name implies and alot more comfortable. You can find them on the web under kayak makers like NRS and Kokotat as well as Paddling.Net. I would stay away from a full dry suit. They are expensive and not made for the constant movements a sailor makes.With a seperate top and bottom you can have a better weather choice.Dry tops and pants will keep you dry on the boat and alot dryer than a wet suit if you dump

You have to dress for the conditions you sail in, there is no one solution.

For me today was a 3mm long sleeve, short pant wet suit. Air temp mid 70's, not sure water temp, cool, winds avg. 8-15, few interesting puffs, so I don't expect to go swimming unless I stupid.
I was very comfortable, out for about 4 hours.
If it was cooler, I would have done long pant wet suit, with a spray top.
My wet suit is 2 parts, so I can wear either or both parts as needed.