Boat Speed Help

manateerichard

Collegiate Sailor
Got a question, well my boat is a '89, stiff hull and not a leak, really comparable in condition to newer boats, the problem is that I can never seem to get the speed that newer boats can, its odd too because I am a bit underweight for a full (150lbs) and heavier people seem to beat me. :eek: I'm not ill experienced at sailing, I've been doing competitive high school sailing for 3 years now. I am a little new to laser though but getting the hang of it. I have similar hardware to new lasers and the only thing i can think may be the problem is the sail. It came with the boat and is old but still crinkly, any insight?

You don't mention what the conditions are. If it's 10+ then weight will play a factor, especially if your sailing against people 20+ lbs more.

Normal sign of a tired sail is to lose pointing ability, but not speed, ie, you go about the same, but can't hold a lane.

Sail setup can be the next problem if it's not weight, ie too much vang/cunningham etc.. easiest way to get up to speed is during training sessions with one or more partners. Sail 2-5 minutes, stop and compare settings (sail, body) and technique.

my guess is that 1. your sail trim is not ideal for the conditions, 2. you're sailing in bad air or too high a course, 3. cockpit is filled with water or 4. the hull is leaking.

If other boats are going faster than you check out their trim (everything including body position), sometimes a small adjustment can mean big differences in vmg. Also, clear air can make a big difference.

if your cockpit is partially filled with water, the weight adds up quickly, 1 gallon is over 8lbs of added weight, add that up with a tiny leak in your hull and you're boat is now much heavier than the competition. I had a leak on my inspection port last fall and I would start out the day sailing fast and by the end of the day if felt like I was dragging an anchor.