A few Questions

Dinghyman

I'm new to sailing and I'm helping my dad get his 1977 Sunfish ready to go this season after sitting on a trailer under a tarp for 11 years. I've been all over the internet trying to find a sunfish like my dads to price it. so far I've had no luck. This lead me to believe that our sunfishes color scheme(Yellow with red-orange stripes on deck,orange on the hull, with a matching sail.) might be rare. Is this true?

The last time my dad used his Sunfish(11 years ago) he said it felt really heavy. He thought that water had probably gotten in. Everyone we asked said that we should install inspection ports on the front and the rear of the boat. Before we install them, we want to know if it would hurt the value of the boat.

There was just a thread about finding the year for another member's boat and this color combo was mentioned. Looking around I saw that the yellow-red showed up in 1973 and I still saw it in an AMF flyer for 1978. My guess is it was around for a few years. Viewing the ad flyers that come up on ebay it looks like dark colors fell out of favor about the early 80s. I had a 60s Fish with a blue deck. The deck got so hot sitting in the sun you had to splash water on it before you could get on. I can see why they went to white with just colored stripes.

Did your dad ever open the drain screw and empty out any water that leaked into the hull? That should be done at the end of every sailing day and before winter storage. You may have a dual problem, a leak and water that has permeated the cells of the emergency flotation foam. Thread 2875 has a great explanation of this situation. http://www.sunfishforum.com/showthread.php?t=2875