changing outhaul

OK, seeing as nobody else has replied, i'll have a go. I'm a self taught sailor by the way, so please correct me if i'm wrong.
This is what i've learnt along the way.... When you are heading up wind (beating) you want the sail to be nice and flat, so pull the outhaul on reasonably tight. This will increase the amount of sail area that is actually being utilised, and creates more lift.

When sailing side on to the wind (reaching) you let off some outhaul depending on how far up or downwind you are sailing. It opens up the sail and allows more wind to occupy it, as the wind is hitting the sail side on. And by pushing into the sail on a diagonal direction it propels the boat forwards.

When going down wind (running) you have the outhaul let off quite a lot. This really opens up the sail a lot and allows as much wind as possible to enter the sail, like a spinnaker.

It's sort of hard to explain, and takes a lot of time and experimenting to master. But the main principles are:
-Beating: on tight
-Reaching: let off a bit
-Running: a fair amount off
Another thing to remember is that it also depends on how windy it is. In light wind you will exagerate how much outhaul you are letting off... and in strong wind you have almost all of the outhaul pulled on while beating, and not let off too much while sailing downwind.
While racing it is also good to watch what other sailors are doing, if they adjust their sails and gain speed it may be wise to adjust your own and see how it affects your own speed.

Just a few more pointers... When adjusting the outhal you are effectively changing mainly the depth of the lower part of the sail. Jackson is quite right with the main principles. The three settings he proposes can be aplied to most weather conditions. If you want to find out the best setting for different weather conditions you have to take the following under consideration.