Weight shifting

st louis sailer

Any thoughts on shifting your weight when single sailing a Capri 14.2? When I race with a crew I am fine, but when I single sail, I find myself shifting around and not doing well in races.

Disclaimer: I have no personal experience racing C14.2 single handed. But based on my experience from other boats...
I think you should be as far forward as you can comfortably steer for upwind. Like between the barney post and the jib sheet blocks. You would be trying to maximize the waterline length. I have found even with crew sitting forward and drinks in the hold, weight needs to be forward to keep the bow in the water.
Downwind, reduce wetted surface and keep the bow high by moving aft.
If you don't like my ideas, try to get someone to take profile pictures while your on a beat, you may see something about the way the boat is balanced that you can't see from the cockpit.

Cheers, Karl

Wow so you're from the St Louis area? I might be relocating down there from Chicago but I'm disappointed in the sailing opportunities for me and my Capri. Now I checked out Creve Cour, nice lake but terrible launch facilities. I'm solo and would not be able to work it out, there's no dock and the sides of both ramps are hull destroyers! And Lake St. Louis is supposedly private. Also Horseshoe Lake but once again, don't see a dock where you could tie off while jockeying the trailer. Where in the world do you sail down there?

Wow so you're from the St Louis area? I might be relocating down there from Chicago but I'm disappointed in the sailing opportunities for me and my Capri. Now I checked out Creve Cour, nice lake but terrible launch facilities. I'm solo and would not be able to work it out, there's no dock and the sides of both ramps are hull destroyers! And Lake St. Louis is supposedly private. Also Horseshoe Lake but once again, don't see a dock where you could tie off while jockeying the trailer. Where in the world do you sail down there?