Watching your self sail your laser ????

mackconsult

Well lets see if I can type this again .... seeing as it all was gone when trying to do a spell check :mad:

Being a mechanical engineer I have an idea that I am thinking about investing some time and $ into. Would other laser sailors be interested in being able to record them selves sailing their laser?

Before spending hours in solid works and modifying my own boat I am hoping to solicit input on this from other laser sailors. MiniDV camcorders are cheap and there are water tight bags available. Battery life on these devices would allow for 2 to 3 hours of recording.

Please let me now if any one else would be interested in a product like this. It would be something that is just added to the boat and hopefully would not add to much weight. Might cost around $30 or $40 to purchase.

Let me know .... before I spend hours in solidworks designing. I would prototype the bracketing and mounting system on my own boat and then could post a quick time clip in my personal comcast webspace for others to view. After hammering out issues the final product would probably be some type of a formed bracket using a standard mounting interface to the camera.

Regards ....:p

181255 said:
Being a mechanical engineer I have an idea that I am thinking about investing some time and $ into. Would other laser sailors be interested in being able to record them selves sailing their laser?

I reckon that if you are sailing when it's howling and surfing waves, your self-video would be mighty interesting.