Uncontrollable weather helm on port tack

Cellobob

Hi there,

I’m a newbie sailor. I have sailed Solings a little, and a wayfarer. I’m on vacation, and there’s an old Sunfish. I went out, probably gusts to 15, and I was doing ok. But, when close hauled on port tack there was uncontrollable weather helm. Starboard tack was no problem. Ideas?

thanks,
Bob

Is the sail rigged to roughly the same height and boom angle as shown on the boat in these pics? https://www.sunfishclass.org/documents/learn_2_sail_in_3_days.pdf If not, you should adjust it via moving the gooseneck and halyard. The sail can go lower, but not higher than what is shown.

The gooseneck can go as far back as 20 inches or so in 15 kts, assuming you are using a wooden daggerboard.
Well, I’m not sure; it may have been higher. I’ll try lower tomorrow! I don’t understand the gooseneck idea. The gooseneck just slides up and down the mast, no fore/aft adjusting.

Well, I’m not sure; it may have been higher. I’ll try lower tomorrow! I don’t understand the gooseneck idea. The gooseneck just slides up and down the mast, no fore/aft adjusting.

The gooseneck is kept from sliding on the lower boom via a screw or nut. You loosen that, slide it to the right location, and re-tighten.

If the sail is too high, don’t just lower it some. Instead, re-tie the halyard to the upper boom further toward the head (top) of the sail.

Hi there,

I’m a newbie sailor. I have sailed Solings a little, and a wayfarer. I’m on vacation, and there’s an old Sunfish. I went out, probably gusts to 15, and I was doing ok. But, when close hauled on port tack there was uncontrollable weather helm. Starboard tack was no problem. Ideas?

thanks,
Bob
I wouldn't expect to sail as close-hauled on a Sunfish as a Soling. (Especially on port tack—which comes with the flaw of all lateen rigs). The gooseneck includes a clamp that allows the lower spar to be moved back or forwards. You'll need a large screwdriver, and maybe some WD-40 on the spar.