Sunfish proper placement of halyard on upper boom

Judge

I am new to this forum and have what I hope is a simple question. Where is the proper place on the upper boom to attach the halyard line that comes off of the top of the mast. I guess it is so many inches or plastic rings back from the peak, but I don't know how many. Thanks for your help.

I am new to sailing so the experts on the forum will have an answer. But I recently had the same question and found the following in my research. 54" from the top for racing and 74" for recreational, then I supposed anywhere in between depending upon wind and preference. I am interested in other answers as well.

I am new to sailing so the experts on the forum will have an answer...I am interested in other answers as well.

I'm not an expert in this, but I do have three Sunfish. I use a knot that looks like the attached photo. Though each knot is a bit different from one other—each has only tightened, and none has "unknotted".

To keep the knot from sliding, I wrapped the spar with duct tape, then tightened a plastic cable-tie around the lower end of the duct tape. To be really secure, the very end was dipped in epoxy.

Attachments

• GEDC0018.JPG
    GEDC0018.JPG
    198.9 KB · Views: 330
I'm not an expert either... I just read a lot of stuff about Sunfish and sailing.

Per the latest Rigging Guide from Laser Performance (see .pdf file), they recommend using a clove hitch knot, and set it between the 9th and 10th clip, counting up from the tack of the sail. If you don't have a window, moving the knot lower down (towards the tack) will raise the sail, and make it easier on your neck.

Depending on how serious you want to get, you can also see the Sunfish Tuning Guide for Racers, there is a table there with (4) different settings.

Or, see tips from Eduardo Cordero at Starboard Passage: How to Rig a Sunfish.