sunfish project

Alcort59224

Last weekend i bought my second sunfish, the first one was a 69' in nice shape after last summer i wanted a second one so me and my brother/friends could race them (recreationally). I bought a 1984 AMF in rough shape and i'm going to fix it up and hopefully get it sailing by june. i origionally wanted to find a nicer boat but i got the boat rig a nice sail and the ruddr and dagger board for $100 so i couldent resist: I'm also a high school student without a lot of cash so cheaper is better. the boat weighs in at 190 lbs and has a crack in the cockpit roughly 2 inches long. im not sure yet if the crack is all the way through or if it leaks there. I also want to leak test it. it probally has some leaks to fix because i poured a couple of gallons of water out when i bought it. Heres my plan any comments or sugestions will be helpfull.

-first wash off the hull/clean all dirt off

-leak test and identify all problem areas

-install an inspection port behind splash rail to dry boat out

-sand/grind loose glass out of crack and fill with epoxey

-repair any leaks i find in the leak test

-wax and make it look nice

Attachments

• Picture 001.jpg
    Picture 001.jpg
    172.3 KB · Views: 99
  • Picture 002.jpg
    Picture 002.jpg
    209.4 KB · Views: 99
Sounds like a plan

You appear to be on the right track

Probably will need to leak test again after that crack is patched up.

The boat looks great and once you get her dried out and not leaking, you will have a nice boat. The boat will dry much faster if you install two inspection ports, one 6" port centered between the aft edge of the splash rail and forward of the leading edge of the dagger board trunk and another centered on the deck about 1" forward of the transon. Turn the boat upside down on sawhorses, install a small fan and a lightbulb (to get some heat in the interior) and let 'er rip for a month or so. You may be able to get the boat back to the original 130 lb. range.