Sunfish manufacture date?

Hello everyone!

I'm brand new to the sailing community and this is my first forum post. Today I bought an AMF Alcort Sunfish. I'm interested in knowing what year the boat was manufactured. It does have the rear storage compartment, so post 1971 I'm assuming? I've read where the serial number should be on the right corner and the last two digits reflect the year. My boat only has a faded sticker on the right corner, but does have numbers molded on the left corner. These numbers are as follows, "010036". Does anyone know what these numbers might reflect?

Attachments

• Sunfish1.jpg
    Sunfish1.jpg
    38.6 KB · Views: 43
  • Sunfish2.jpg
    Sunfish2.jpg
    12.9 KB · Views: 43
I've got one of those Sunfish, too, and still scratching my head what those numbers meant. Response #8, below:

Post a few more pictures of the boat, some folks can date the boat based off of the gelcoat colors and sticker styles, deck hardware, sail colors, etc. Based on the gelcoat stripe colors I see I would guess around 1981.

The different numbering scheme might indicate that the boat was built in Canada.

Our 1981 AMF Alcort Sunfish

Double Stack Madison kayak rack.jpg

Hello everyone!

I'm brand new to the sailing community and this is my first forum post. Today I bought an AMF Alcort Sunfish. I'm interested in knowing what year the boat was manufactured. It does have the rear storage compartment, so post 1971 I'm assuming? I've read where the serial number should be on the right corner and the last two digits reflect the year. My boat only has a faded sticker on the right corner, but does have numbers molded on the left corner. These numbers are as follows, "010036". Does anyone know what these numbers might reflect?

Attachments

• Sunfish3.jpg
    Sunfish3.jpg
    45.6 KB · Views: 38