Sunfish leaking foam pieces on beach

ComputerMaven

Hi, I am a newbie here :p I have recently bought my first sailboat so that I can learn how to sail.She is an older sunfish, an Alcort 1976 model.
In any case I have just started taking sailing lessons, and now I am afraid. Here is whats going on. There are really 2 problems,
First problem is when I drain her from water taken on in the hull, little bits of what looks like stryofoam cup come out in the sand. I clean it up afterwards, we are on Lake Michigan.Does anyone know what this this, and can I do anything about it, and is it dangerous?
And the other thing is just when I was feeling somewhat confident in sailing at least close to shore, I had something happen! One day during a lesson, I was on my own, and it was a very very windy day, this is Chicago, and my sailboat just started sailing backwards. I had no control, and if I hadnt been in a class,I really dont know what I would have done. Actually it was so windy, if I hadnt been in a class, I ~never~ would have been out alone.What happened here, and what should I have done?They sent a boat out to rescue me,and they were so upset, they never explained.Thank you in advance. I want to go out again this summer, and I am reading and trying to learn what to do next time.

Lisa,

I am going to take a guess and say you were making a turn when you started moving backwards, the sail just flapping. This is call being "in irons". What happened is that you started the turn and did not have the momentum to carry you though the turn to change tack and simply just got "stuck". Don't be embarrassed, everyone has had it happen. About the only way out, in my experience is by putting your rudder hard over (doesn't matter which way) and hold it there. You can also push the sail out to catch the wind. The bow should soon fall off, the sails fill and you are back on your way.