Sunfish Cover

HopeFloats

i am new to sailing and was able to get my hands in two Sunfish boats. They will get stayed outdoors at a sailing clubs rack during the summer. Looking for an afforadable. Cover. I will need two. Most I have found new online are well over 200$. Would a tarp work? Anything DYI on the cheap I could do?

There are several boat covers on Amazon for $40 - $60 range that look like they would work. I had a 420 that I tarped with bungee straps that lasted several years.

Thank you for your input on buying a traditional boat cover. I couldn’t think of any downsides- so your feedback is reassuring. From your suggestion, I found one on Amazon for $40- covers a “Jon” type boat. 18” long-can’t remember width - but it is larger than a sunfish. Comes with straps. Figured the extra length would allow for the mast,boom,sail to for under possibly. All together to cover and protect both my boats from getting water logged I’m only out about $100 this year….I’ll try it- good for now until I can save a few penny’s for a custom fitted cover like the “pros” have.

Tarps are expensive considering they only last a few years, so it is best investment to buy a marine grade cover. Sunbrella from SLO Sail and Canvas is our Go To, we've bought several over ht elast decade and they are still in great shape.

Tarps are expensive considering they only last a few years, so it is best investment to buy a marine grade cover. Sunbrella from SLO Sail and Canvas is our Go To, we've bought several over ht elast decade and they are still in great shape.

While I personally hate tarps because they are a pain and don't work all that well, so I don't use them as boat covers...

I can get 8'x16' tarps for $10.

$200 is 20 tarps. 40 years at a couple years each... and that ignores the future value of money.