Sunfish and Laser

2/Mate

I'm looking to get a boat for racing to replace my Hobie. I'm an older female in average shape. What are the "typical" sailors for Sunfish and Lasers - height, weight, fitness level, etc. What are the advantages of Sunfish vs Laser? Is either one difficult to right after a capsize?

Any info would be appreciated.

2/Mate,

Our club has five active Sunfish racers and at least 3 Laser racers in a fleet mixed with many other kinds of boats. 4 of the 5 SF sailors are over fifty (52 to 65+) while none of the Laser guys are over 50 (45 is the oldest). I have no actual experience in a Laser, but am freinds with the Laser guys. Both are easy to right after capsize. A SF is slower than the Laser. One of the top women SF sailors (Jean Bergman) is not that big, neither is the top male sailor (Eduardo Cordero). From observation a Laser sailor needs to be in a little bit better shape than the SF sailor as a Laser tends to be a little more active. I am 5'10", 185# and the Laser guys (in my club) are a little smaller (175#) and in much better shape. A SF is a little more stable than the Laser (due to hull shape). The SF is simpler to rig than a Laser and both weight about the same. I would suggest a trailer for either after cartoping my SF for too long. Also check the Sunfish_Sailor group on Yahoo from more info (check the files section). Hope this helps.

2/Mate said:
I'm looking to get a boat for racing to replace my Hobie. I'm an older female in average shape. What are the "typical" sailors for Sunfish and Lasers - height, weight, fitness level, etc. What are the advantages of Sunfish vs Laser? Is either one difficult to right after a capsize?