spare parts

daveturn

I have had my Capri 14.2 Mod 1 a little over a month, and the previous owner suggested that I keep some basic tools and spare parts aboard. Do any of you have suggestions as to what I should bring along "just in case?" Thanks.

Dave

P.S. This forum has been very helpful in getting to know my boat. You folks are loaded with great info!

A few rigging pins and ring-dings, duct tape, roll of electrical tape, a couple lengths of line. Vise grips, rigging knife or multitool. Slot screwdriver and a Philips head.

I have sailed my boat for almost two years now and keep nothing aboard the boat. I do keep the sort of things "Fan" talked about in the trunk of my car, but so far have not needed anything.

The real question

Perhaps, Dave, you should rephrase the question: what is the one thing you wished you had brought sailing but didn't ... and no, I don't mean a beer!

I'm a newbie to sailing, but have kayaked for years; the one thing? a whistle.

A knife, a bit of extra line, a paddle, and a cellphone should solve most of your problems. To me, on a daysailer, you only need enough to get back to shore where you can fix what is broken.

Oh c'mon this is simple! a freaking paddle... My electric motor has crapped out.. and I have had winds that (just would not die) die on me.... PADDLE!

Then after that rigging tape (who the heck said electrical tape, SHAME ON YOU!)..... Rigging tape.. HUGE difference people. It actually ages and wears better then electrical tape, even if the electrical is white!

Spare LINE.. duh... You never know when you are gonna raft up, anchor, tie to a tree (yep did that too)..., or tie to a dock (pee breaks)...

Tools? MARLIN spike! Look it up.. is PERFECT for untying knots. Knife should come with the marlin spike.

Extra bungees... should always have extra bungees... They are to tie down sails (jib included) in a pinch... get ones without the sharp hook ends.. the barrel connector types (cork?).... are perfect.