Should a complete newbie go for a Yachtmaster course?

Should an absolute newbie to sailing try a Yachtmaster Coastal or Offshore course?

• Yes. It's a very good qualification.

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • No. It's overrated.

Votes: 0 0.0%

• Total voters
  • Poll closed .

ToroLoco

Hi folks, new to the site and I am just wondering, has anyone done a Yachtmaster course, specifically Coastal or maybe Offshore? When I say I'm a newbie, I really mean it, until I googled it I didn't know the difference between a jib and a halyard :( Anyway, yesterday I had this brilliant idea (?) to make a career in sailing. One of those Zero to Hero courses. Currently I study as an adult student for a BA with a university here in Europe but that is all theory, won't get me a meaningful, enjoyable career. I thought, hey, sailing might. Right?

After much searching I came across a school in an undisclosed country, and the prices are good. $3720 for a 34 day Yachtmaster Coastal. And $6330 for a 3 month Yachtmaster Offshore. Both prices include food and accommodation minus 1 week when you are doing some survival training. I think it is a pretty good price to get a decent, and what I think is a sought after, qualification. What do you think?