Sheet Line?

Whitecap

At APS, there is a sale on main sheet line. My 1968 sunfish has a very old main sheet line that is practically flat, and was going to order a new sheet line. My initial research (which may be incorrect, because I am quite new at sailing) shows four main sheet front runners.

THEY ARE:
Marlow Ropes, Marstron Line - .24 / foot
New England Ropes, Buzz line - .47 / foot
FES Robline Dinghy Sheet Line - .49 / foot
Rooster Ropes, Polilite Line - .65 / foot

My questions are this:
1. Rope size? 7MM (9/32) or 8mm (5/16)? Why?
2. Length? (Want the rope tied off to the aft end of hiking strap). 32 feet?
3. Which one of the above ropes (each on sale at APS from 14-16% off) should I get?
4. Any better purchases out there?

Background:
Recreational sailor - beginner
Big hands
Want to avoid rope twists and knots in cockpit.
Want a comfortable rope without wearing gloves.
Want a good blend between performance and comfort.
Ropes will be used often - Sailing at least 4 days a week off the dock from early spring to late fall.

Their description of each rope shows the characteristics of each, but how they are grading them, makes little sense to me cognitively. I do not know the value of each characteristic they grade the ropes by, due to a lack of overall experience. Are there any real differences between these ropes above?

Thank you as always for your thoughts and experience,
Whitecap

Ps- At the moment, Im leaning toward Buzz Line, due to its comfort. Thoughts?

Last edited:
My 'go-to' sheet for Sunfish and Laser sailing is the 7 mm Rooster Polylite. It is very durable, and doesn't pick up water. It tends not to twist around itself, which is pretty important for Laser sailing (very long sheet). I never use gloves.

I also have a thicker (Buzz) sheet for the really heavy days and a skinnier one for the really light days. But I haven't used those much at all and can't comment other than stating that the Buzz one feels nice and soft.