Seeking Advice on Buying C14.2

wilx

Greetings:

I'm new to the group and an inexperienced sailor (but not a total newbie). I'm considering buying a C14.2 here in Northern Utah for day sailing on our lakes (Bear Lake, Lake Powell, and others).

I've read your faqs and downloaded your free C14 handbook. Thanks! Your resources have been very helpful for me. It sure sounds like the C14 is the right type of sailboat for the type of sailing I want to do with my kids.

The FAQ says that a C14.2 Mod 1 should run about $500 to $1500. I've found a C14 for sale and will be driving out to go see it later this week. They're asking $1900. I'd appreciate your opinions on this price. Here are the specifics:

It is a 1984 Catalina Capri 14.2 (Mod 1, I assume). The seller's description is rather anemic. It includes a Yamaha 4 hp outboard motor, a homemade 1-axle trailer, and both the mainsail and jib sail. That's it; no mention of condition. From the pictures, the boat looks clean with no damage; although, the cuddy hatch is missing (which causes me concerns for water damage to the plywood braces between the hull and cockpit floor -- I'll be sure to check those). The outboard looks like it has been heavily used and abused. I may haggle it out of the deal for a lower price and pick up a used 2 hp outboard.

The guy told me to let him know when I was coming to look at it so he could dig the snow off of it! It certainly hasn't been stored in a garage all its life.

That's about all I know about it. Considering the boat, trailer, and outboard, is $1900 a fair price if it is in sound condition? I don't want a project boat and will watch out for the things listed in the faq.

Thanks in advance,

Mark

I will say that I bought my Mod 2 (1986 maybe?) in good shape, on a good trailer, no motor, nice cover, all rigging in decent shape (the jib is a bit worn, but still works) roller furler, for $1,500 about a year an a half ago.