Sailboat tacking explanation

Dani

dear all
i'am a newbie here, not even sure if the subject was already discussed or is of interest. tried to find a simple explanation to tacking, google brought up either oversimplified explanations, historical notes, and technical "how to" information, or learned articles crammed with high math. my interest is an elementary explanations based on high school knowledge, namely newton's law of action and reaction forces, and vector decomposition of forces (rule of the parallelogram). see my recently devised explanation at http://www.ee.bgu.ac.il/~censor/sail-boat-tacking.pdf. is anybody aware of other explanations of this kind posted on the internet? is the explanation sound? thanks for responses-- dani

dear all
i'am a newbie here, not even sure if the subject was already discussed or is of interest. tried to find a simple explanation to tacking, google brought up either oversimplified explanations, historical notes, and technical "how to" information, or learned articles crammed with high math. my interest is an elementary explanations based on high school knowledge, namely newton's law of action and reaction forces, and vector decomposition of forces (rule of the parallelogram). see my recently devised explanation at http://www.ee.bgu.ac.il/~censor/sail-boat-tacking.pdf. is anybody aware of other explanations of this kind posted on the internet? is the explanation sound? thanks for responses-- dani

Dani,

What aspect of tacking are you seeking to have explained?

At the simplest definition level, tacking is changing "boards", by moving the bow through the wind. In contrast, gybing is changing "boards" by moving the stern through the wind.