Sail and Setup

AdvKayaker

I'm hearing a bazillion different measurements and would like a few replies please from those more experienced than I.
Recreational user and beginner here. 6', 170lb. Will for nearly all sailings be just myself. Possibly my 30lb dog in addition but only after I get much more proficient. Right now I feel I'm a hazard to all but the local gators. lol So here goes.
2003 Vantage Sunfish, stock sail afaik.
Length from top of upper boom to the halyard? Again, purely recreational set-up/advice please.
Length from front of lower boom to the gooseneck?
I have a rudder with tiller only. Would like to know of they make a telescoping extension. Any owners of one recommend a particular style/brand?
I feel I'm doing certain things wrong but would like to confirm it isn't the setup that's creating it or making things worse.

Two items from my know-it-all / big-sailboat-buddy :rolleyes::

When pressed to go racing in Sunfish, he took a broomstick, a drill and a bolt and made a tiller extension. :cool:

From this wreck rec-sailor, I'd adjust the sail so the gooseneck is about 11 inches above the deck, and more importantly, keep the clew of the sail higher than the tack. The side appearance looks more like a checkmark than an "L".

With the halyard, the trick is to attach the halyard to the upper spar so it can adjust easily. This can be done by forming a bowline-knot about 15 inches in diameter. (Depends on the halyard's diameter). Pass the extreme end of the knot through itself three times, then slip the bitter end through. This is a strong-gripping attachment, yet when slackened, slides easily in either direction. There's also no metal-to-metal contact. :cool:

Here's a picture of "the gripper" that's working for me:

P8300015.JPG

And since all my spare shower curtain hooks have been used replacing broken ones... I think I may go this route.

Attachments

• 8751469597_4686a0fc03.jpg
    8751469597_4686a0fc03.jpg
    6.5 KB · Views: 32