Rules- At a mark

Thread starter #1
I'm trying to get my head around the basic racing rules. I would just like someone to clarify the rule in relation to right-of-way at a mark. Would it be correct to say that:

At a mark the inside boat has right of way (if it is overlapped). If there is no overlap the boat clear ahead has right of way. :eek:
 
#2
That is an oversimplification, but it is basically correct.

A notable exception to be cautious of is two boats approaching a windward mark on a beat on opposite tacks. Your broad statement does not apply in that case, you'll want to study it further.
 
Top