Reversing the fittings on the top mast section

oztayls

My stop mast has become soft so I want to reverse the fittings. Should I keep the fore/aft orientation of the tube or reverse that as well?

Thanks, in Steve's video, I think he aligns the stressed side the same way. Is this the accepted practice?

I expect it is because Steve will have done many of these in his career :) It would also seem to be correct as it will be less likely to break if the stress goes the same way - Reversing the stress could make it brittle :)

It would also seem to be correct as it will be less likely to break if the stress goes the same way - Reversing the stress could make it brittle :)
As a metallurgical engineer, I'd love to see any scientific or engineering explanation of this.

Good to see two metallurgical engineers sitting on the fence Alan! I asked a ME friend last night what his thoughts were and he shrugged his shoulders;). I think you could box this one with the so-called work hardening of our masts. What are your thoughts on that Alan, truth or folk-lore?

In the interests of research, I think I'll reverse the orientation and put the old compression side facing forward. If it breaks, you'll all be the first to know :)

As a child, I was making an assumption. Also the word 'seem' suggests that I do not know the correct answer, but am making an assumption to try to help a fellow sailor :)

Good to see two metallurgical engineers sitting on the fence Alan! I asked a ME friend last night what his thoughts were and he shrugged his shoulders;). I think you could box this one with the so-called work hardening of our masts. What are your thoughts on that Alan, truth or folk-lore?

In the interests of research, I think I'll reverse the orientation and put the old compression side facing forward. If it breaks, you'll all be the first to know :)