Re-Gellcoating

Mike94

at the end of this season or in the next month i plan on re-gellcoating my laser and fixing up some fiberglass damage on the gunnel, i was wondering on some tips for doing it to get some of the best results, i have never done it before

Do you have a spray booth, or at least some kind of spray-painting equipment?

If you are familiar with spray painting, spraying gelcoat isn't much different. If you can't spray it, I'd suggesting having the job done somewhere that can. I've rolled gelcoat onto a number of boats, and the effect has been universally mediocre (which was fine for those situations). Depending on the condition of the boat, I might roll gelcoat on the deck, but if you're working on the hull, I don't think you would be happy with anything but spraying.

Having said that, I've heard of people applying a variety of paints with a roller, followed by "tipping" the surface with a brush to smooth out the coating. I've never done it myself, but I'll be very interested in hearing about other people's experience with that or other techniques (I need to do some patching on my Laser's deck this winter...).

Cheers,

Geoff S.
DN US-5156/Laser 145234/Renegade 510

I actually restore Lasers for a hobby, and I've set up a shop in my own shed. On one boat, I used Interlux Brightside Poly Paint, (I forget the name but it's close to that) avaliable from any West Marine or Boat US. I got an ultra fine roller from The Home Depot and this actually didn't do a bad job. However, there are still tiny bumps in the surface and it is not smooth to the touch, and I wasn't too impressed by the outcome. This, however, is a fairly inexpensive solution if you are not racing. But another problem I have with this kind of paint is that if you scrath it, the original gelcaot will show through and you will have to re-pain these areas every season.