What's new

Questions about Toe Rails and Association legal replacements

Pingpro

Hi all,
I am new to j/24's and recently purchased hull #3205 (1982) and it needs a few repairs to be water ready. One are the toe rails. I initially thought I'd go with PVC but $840 for a set of plastic toe rails seems crazy... (Waterline Systems). I'm also looking into artificial wood (kinda like Trex Decking), I found a company that would custom fabricate them for me and has done toe rails before. I'm also looking into slotted aluminum as it would be durable and great for attaching things to it. I am wondering if either of the last two options would make the boat class illegal. I don't plan to race it in class races, but don't want to reduce resale value down the road. I don't know what either option would cost yet, but before pursuing, I figured I'd check on legality.

Also does anyone have the actual specs on the toe rails? Length of each section and width at bottom, top and height?

Many thanks,
Christian

Thomas Anthony

Not being a rule's expert I can't comment on the legality issue. Common sense might say if this was a 5,000 series boat sailed by a top caliber crew in a highly visible OD National/Worlds event and it was perceived that the modification in some way enhanced the boat's performance, then perhaps yes it might be subject to protest. At a local/regional level though I would not think this would draw ire.