Please advise!

Somebody please advise. I'm a mere novice, happy with my second-hand battered Sunfish to skirt the shores of the Long Island Sound. My old sail tore so I bought a replacement from Sunfishdirect. It cost $239. To my surprise what I received has a weird crinkly, plastic feel (Dacron, I think). Very different from the smooth, cloth-like texture of the original. It sails ok but feels cheap and is noisy. Is this a modern "improvement "? Is this company even connected to the boat company of that name? Have I been misled? And if so, where do I get a sail like the old one and how much will it cost? Thanks for any insights! Athanasius

Your old sail was probably old and worn, and had lost its crispness. A new sail should be much stiffer and have some crinkliness. Does the sail have a fish logo on it? Sunfish Direct sells official ones that have a fish, and knockoffs that don’t. Their knockoffs are fine for sailing around and are cheaper, but don’t have as aerodynamic a shape as the official ones.

Sunfish Direct is a dealer for products from LaserPerformance, the builder and rights holder of Sunfish, but they're not otherwise connected. Their 239-dollar sails aren't class-legal (those cost at least 380), but they're probably fairly close copies, and as such vastly superior to your original sail. The "crinkly, plastic feel" isn't "weird" but normal, and the "noisiness" is a GOOD thing :)

_

Thanks! Don't know much about sailing but I know this: it's all about the feeling. Knowing I haven't been taken I can relax and enjoy the subdued color scheme of my sail, chosen to complement the boat-colors (blues and whites, in contrast to the former retro rainbow).

Sails were silk, cotton, coated nylon and now Dacron. New sails are noisy when they flap, but they do offer better performance. We like them all.

Audrey Winnie 23 May.jpg