What's new

Optimal Trailer Design For Two Sunfish?

Greg Q

Hi all, I am new to the Sunfish world. This past summer I picked up a free boat from my aunt that was in good condition. She has a second boat for "free" that will need some very minor hull repair. Overall the boats are in good shape!

My question is this. After spending some significant time combing though this forum looking at trailer setups I'm trying to determine the better design. The "A-Frame" setup, or the stacked setup. I would be storing life jackets, spars, sails, and a dolly on the trailer as well if possible.

My second question is. If I go with the stacked setup it seems that storing the boats upside down is the better option as the boats are stronger on top vs the bottom and it would reduce my chances of hull damage while on the road. Is that correct?

Thanks for all the input. My wife and I had so much fun on the water last summer. We cannot wait to get out there again- this time with two boats :)

I posted some pictures that I found on this forum to help explain what I'm trying to do.

Attachments

L&VW

Since I cartop, my concerns are mostly with the trailer itself. But, FWIW, the edges combine the top and bottom of the Sunfish, and are very strong, so I'd prefer the "A-frame" design.

I'd load the trailer so the springs have started to take the load. If the trailer is too stiff, consult with a local trailer dealer to cut or remove leaves.

On this forum, I've shown videos of others who've added actual shock absorbers at great effort. :eek: A search using "shock" should turn it up.

Greg Q

Since I cartop, my concerns are mostly with the trailer itself. But, FWIW, the edges combine the top and bottom of the Sunfish, and are very strong, so I'd prefer the "A-frame" design.

I'd load the trailer so the springs have started to take the load. If the trailer is too stiff, consult with a local trailer dealer to cut or remove leaves.