Nominees Announced For US SAILING's 2005 Rolex Yachtsman & Yachtswoman


Staff member
Thread starter #1
Barby MacGowan, Media Pro Int'l for Rolex Watch U.S.A., 401-849-0220 or
Marlieke Eaton, US SAILING, 401-683-0800


PORTSMOUTH, R.I. (December 14, 2005) - US SAILING, national governing
body for the sport, has announced the U.S. sailors who have been short
listed for its 2005 Rolex Yachtsman and Yachtswoman of the Year awards.
Established in 1961 by US SAILING and sponsored by Rolex Watch, U.S.A. since 1980, US SAILING's Rolex Yachtsman and Yachtswoman of the Year awards recognize
outstanding on-the-water achievement in the calendar year just
concluded. Widely regarded as the sport's ultimate recognition for U.S. sailors, US
SAILING's Rolex Yachtsman and Yachtswoman of the Year awards have
honored such sailing standouts as Betsy Alison, Dave Curtis, Dennis
Conner, Courtenay Dey, JJ Isler, John Kostecki, Jody Swanson and Ted
Turner, all of whom have won the coveted award multiple times.

Nominees for US SAILING's 2005 Rolex Yachtsman of the Year are: Kiel
Week 470 Men's Champion Mikee Anderson-Mitterling (Coronado, Calif.);
Laser North American Champion and World University Games Gold Medalist
Andrew Campbell (San Diego, Calif.); Snipe World Champion Augie Diaz
(Miami, Fla.); Kiel Week 470 Men's Champion David Hughes (San Diego,
Calif.); J/24 and Thistle National Champion Mike Ingham (Rochester,
N.Y.); Etchells World Champion Jeff Linton (Tampa, Fla.); A-Class
Catamaran World and North American Champion Pete Melvin (Huntington
Beach, Calif.); 2.4 Metre World Champion Nick Scandone (Fountain Valley,
Calif.); and Star North American and Snipe National Champion George
Szabo (San Diego, Calif.).

Nominees for US SAILING's 2005 Rolex Yachtswoman of the Year are:
Yngling Women's World Champion Sally Barkow (Nashotah, Wis.); Laser
Radial World Champion Paige Railey (Clearwater, Fla.); and Laser Radial
World Bronze Medalist Anna Tunnicliffe (Plantation, Fla.).

For additional information on the accomplishments of each nominee this
year, please visit

The nominees will be reviewed by a panel of noted sailing journalists,
who together will discuss the merits of each nominee and vote by secret
ballot to determine US SAILING's 2005 Rolex Yachtsman and Yachtswoman of the Year.

The winners will be announced in January and honored during a luncheon at the New York Yacht Club in New York City, on February 24, 2006, where they will be presented with Rolex timepieces.

About Rolex Watch U.S.A.
Since Rolex Watch U.S.A. first presented timepieces to America's Cup
defenders in 1958, the company has consistently recognized and
encouraged excellence in every important arena of competitive sailing,
including Olympic Games preparation, US SAILING championships, disabled
sailing, and offshore, one-design and women's events.

The United States Sailing Association (US SAILING) is the national
governing body for sailing and sailboat racing. Headquartered in
Portsmouth, Rhode Island, the organization's mission is to encourage
participation and promote excellence in sailing and racing in the U.S.
US SAILING offers training and education programs, supports a wide range
of sailing organizations and communities, and provides administration
and oversight of competitive sailing across the country, including the
US Sailing Teams and the U.S.
Olympic and Paralympic Sailing Teams. For more information, please visit