Newby in an new (1990) 14.2

e90018

I have little experience as skipper and some as crew. Just bought my first sailboat (the Capri) and am loving it! I have read a lot but lack experience at which I am working.

I hope somebody on this forum can point to some videos or other material on tacking. I am having a tough time with this. I keep stalling and never cross the wind until after several tries. This is frustrating because it seems like I wasn't having this problem until recently.

Thanks and regards
Rick

I am sure that you will get better replies than mine, but I just generally try to build up as big a head of steam as I can and then throw it over hard and fast.

Another thing that I will do in light wind is to keep the jib cleated tight until the nose crosses the wind line (I am sure that there is a better term of this). The jib catches the wind earlier and helps push the nose over. Once the main fills, I then uncleat the jib and let it flop over the the leeward side and trim it. It's pretty rough on the jib and I am sure that most people watching me thing that I am simply an idiot who does not know how to uncleat my jib, but it works. I think it is technically called "backing the jib".

Get on to YouTube and you will find every version of tacking known to man in addition to the very radical "Roll Tack"